top of page
Search

First Impressions.

Updated: Nov 8, 2019

After about a total of 15 hours of travel, I landed in Beijing, China. The airport wasn't as busy as I thought it would be for a city of 30+ million people. I made a friend right after landing because we found out we worked for the same company. I was surprised by how easy it was to find my luggage and exchange currency. I was also, and still am, very surprised by how much China doesn't use air conditioner. The airport being hot is an understatement.


This was also my first experience with customs, and for some reason I was nervous they wouldn't let me in. But alas, no need to worry. After taking everything but a strand of hair, I was in! I made more instant friends at the airport as we got on the bus and headed to the hotel. On the way there a bus of Chinese people noticed we were a bus full of foreigners. We all waved at each other back and forth.


My first two weeks of Beijing were a whirlwind. It really didn't feel like I was in China. Beijing feels (and smells) JUST like New York City. Beijing is massive to say the least. Everything is really far apart, but I learned the metro system in just seven days of being there. Getting around China was one of my biggest worries, so I'm beyond proud of myself for catching on so quickly.


The people have been why my experience has been more positive than negative. ESL teachers look after each other and everyone just wants to have fun. Chinese people have been the NICEST people I've had the pleasure of meeting. Chinese people are so eager to just practice hello/goodbye with you. I left my retainers at a restaurant and the staff dug through the trash to find it. I mean poured it out on the floor and then wouldn't let us help them clean up. I have been shown a kindness I didn't expect.


Has everything been perfect? Defintely not. I've had a few of bumps in the road. Like adjusting to the pollution and getting sick. As well as getting over how much people take my picture or stare because here it's not rude to treat foreginers like real life aliens. Overall, Beijing treated me well. I had so many new experiences such as a Chinese club, the Temple of Heaven, Tianamen Square, the Pearl Market and so much more. All of which I will write about as well.

















227 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page