top of page
Search

Big Bad Beijing

My time in China started with two weeks of training in Beijing, and what an interesting two weeks it was. Training days included long (too long for my liking) commutes, making new friends, not knowing what lied ahead, and constantly losing my retainers.


First, I would like to talk about how China never felt starkly different than home. Meaning, all the time in Beijing I kept saying over and over “this doesn’t feel different. Just feels like New York.” Beijing is very big. My newfound friends and I did our best to see as much as we could, but I’m sure we only saw 3% of the city. I have been to several cities in China now, and Beijing is my least favorite.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s 1000% worth visiting and I will be going back at least two more times to knock some more things off my list. The packed metros and the fact the city isn’t very walk-able because everything is super far apart is a turn off. Beijing did have the best food I’ve had since being in China, and I also got a few free things just for being foreign *dusts shoulder in celebrity.*

Here is a list of the top 4 things I did while in Beijing:


1. Temple of Heaven

The Temple of Heaven is unlike other temples in many ways. It’s not just one temple, but a complex of multiple religious buildings, a museum, food stalls, and a very peaceful park amongst crowds. The Hall of Prayer for Good Harvests is the main attraction. It was built in the 1400s. Emperors would come here to pray and leave sacrifices in hopes of a bountiful harvest. Definitely a major highlight, but the most memorable part for me was the park. We were lucky to have seen a group of older Chinese people practicing sword dancing. Bonus- there was also an adorable old Chinese man in silk who let us take his picture.



Tips:

Ticket prices vary by season. It also varies by if you want an all-access pass to everything in the complex. Peak season is April thru October. All-access tickets cost 35RMB. During nonpeak season tickets cost 28RMB. You can get to the Temple of Heaven by using line 5 and getting off at the TianTanDongMen stop.

2. The Lama Temple (also known as Yonghe and Yonghegong Temple)

This temple almost beat out the first. Not only because the ticket is cheaper, but because this temple is more of a best kept secret. It is much less crowded than the Temple of Heaven and still gorgeous. So many gold statues! This temple was my first time seeing people pray by leaving sacrifices and burning incense. If it’s not on your list of things to do it should be. In order to be respectful, we didn’t get many pictures of the inside. This will be one you have to see for yourself!



Tips:

This temple has its own metro stop, so it’s very easy to get to. Take line 2 or 5 and get off at Yonghegong Station. Tickets are 25RMB.


3. Partying in Sanlitun

At the expense of sounding old, Sanlitun is a ‘hip’ area in Beijing. It’s full of dope architecture, lights, bars, clubs, shopping, and international restaurants. There’s also this strange “paparazzi“ thing that happens here. Men ask girls to model for them on the sidewalk...and they do (see video below as proof). If you’re looking for nightlife, you can throw a rock and land on a bar. I highly recommend the club 1/3rd. This was some of the most fun I had in my life. Do know that clubs in China are not like back home. EDM and strobe lights reign supreme here. Lots of clubs in China are willing to give foreigners free alcohol because they kind of use you to boost the look of their spot. Someone in my training group had the hookup. We were able to get some tables and free drinks set up ahead of time. The best part was that there were two Chinese friends at our table that eventually started dancing with us too. Language barrier be damned.  





4. Friends Café

I will admit it…I am not a Friends fan. I really could care less, but I added this to my list for all the really big Friends fans. It’s 100% like being in Central Perk. Watch never ending reruns on the famous couch and you can even play pool in Joey’s apartment. It was a lot of fun because I went with three really big Friends fans. I personally think it’s a bit expensive in comparison to other coffee spots in China, but hey it’s a gimmick. Gotta do it once for the 99s and 00s.



Tips:

Get here by exiting line ten at Jinataizizhao Station. It’s a bit of a walk from the metro, but don’t worry you can find a full set of directions on Apple Maps and the walk is a scenic one (the last pic was a part of the walk).





92 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page